SAMS Competition

A number of trophies are awarded at the end of the annual SAMS Convention. Most are awarded to the winners of the various competitions that take place during the Convention. You can click on the name of the award in the list below to find a information and a list of winners for each trophy.

To enter the competitions you need to be a member of a magical society associated to SAMS

The winners of the 2019 competitions are as follow

Inaugural One Trick Competition Janet Colvan

John Ramsey Rose Bowl (best effect in close up) Billy Reid

Stuart Leith Shield (runner up in close up) Steven Blair

Anne Warlock Trophy (best act in close up) Billy Reid

Brian Jeffery Award (runner up in children's) Fraser Stokes

Max Raskin Cup (best act in children's) Jamie Field

The Fletcher Cup (runner up in stage) George Speirs

Harold McMillan Shield (best act in stage) Adam Black

Jack Silver Dealers Award (best magic dealer display) Magicbox

Ian Adair Award (for originality) Fraser Stokes

Murray Wand for Showmanship Steven Blair

Sir Alexander Canon Trophy (club with most points over the year) Kilmarnock Magic Circle

Craig Quaich (for the person the S.A.M.S. president thinks has done the most for magic in Scotland) Billy Reid.

For information on S.A.M.S. Competitions:

Graeme Taylor
SAMS Competition Organiser
5 Keir Hardie Crescent


John Ramsay Rose Bowl

Best magic effect in the Close-Up.

Ann Warlock Trophy

Best act in the Close-Up.

Stuart Leith Shield

Second Place in the Close-Up.

Max Raskin Cup

Best act in Children's Magic.

Brian Jeffrey Award

Second place in Children's Magic.

Harold McMillan Shield

Best Stage Act.

The Fletcher Cup

Second Place in the Stage.

Murray Wand

Most showmanship at the convention

Ian Adair Award

For originality.

Sir Alexander Cannon Trophy

Scottish Club Scoring the highest points.

The Jimmy Craig Quaich

Person who has done the most for magic in the Presidents opinion.

Jack Silver Dealers Award

Best magic dealer display.